Ricardo Melchior Navarro has held since 1999 the Presidency of the Council of Tenerife after serving as vice president from 1987 to 1999. Born in Santa Cruz de Tenerife on February 18, 1947, is married and has two children. Between 2004 and 2008 he was Senator from Tenerife.

He trained at the University of Navarra as Industrial Engineer specializing in Industrial Organization. Also MS in Economics from the School of Aachen in Germany, studies conducted through a grant from the German government.

His political activity began in 1987 with access to the Vice President of the Cabildo, a position he has combined with insular counselor Planning and Economic Development (1987-1991) , Agriculture and Economic Development (1991-1995) and Agriculture and Water (1995-1999).

Currently a member of the National Executive and Coalition Insular Canaria (CC).

During the past 25 years, has been working in research, development and innovation of renewable energy held in all states of the European Union, with active participation in seminars, congresses and conferences related to these matters. Expert research and development (R&D) of the European Union is also a member of the Scientific Committee of the Institute of Solar Energy in Germany and founder of European Solar Council (Paris Club), the European Communities for Renewable Energy (CERE) and the European Agency for Renewable Energy and President of the Board of the Teide National Park.

Excels his appointment as Honorary Doctor of Science from the National University of Ireland, in the field of renewable energy, a distinction which was delivered on May 10, 2002 at University College Cork.

In September 2003, President of the French Republic awarded him the medal of Knight of the National Order of Merit (Chevalier Dans L’ Ordre National du Mérite) in recognition of his work in promoting the social and civic progress.

In January 2004, the governor of Miranda ( Venezuela ) grants the Order of Francisco de Miranda (First Class).

In 2005, the Royal Family of Denmark appointed him ambassador to Spain from Hans Christian Anderssen (1805-1875) to mark the bicentenary of his birth. In June of this year (2011) , has been awarded the honor of Commander of the French National Order of Merit.